8/6/17 – 2017 Micro-Reviews

So there were a ton of 2017 albums I devoured recently, but not all of them I felt the need to write a full fledged review over. There weren’t any that I felt were simply awful, but mainly didn’t grab me enough to give me the urge to type out a love letter to them.

Aaron Dilloway – The Gag File
Aaron Dilloway & Tom Smith – The Dutch Viruses – I love Aaron Dilloway but I just haven’t been in the mood for noise, and couldn’t sit still through them.

Actress – AZD – Just didn’t interest me

Akufen – EP – Interesting but it was just an EP and nothing too much to sink my teeth into

Bastien Keb – 22.02.85 – I remember liking it sort of, but looking back I have 4 playthroughs and I can’t remember anything about it

Big Blood – The Daughters Union – same as the above

Billy Woods – Known Unknowns – I wasn’t really a big Billy Woods fan and this is more of the same

Blanck Mass – World Eater – I was hyped for this but it just didn’t grab me

Brockhampton – Saturation – Fascinating at first but on repeat listens it got worse and worse as the shock factor wore off

Death Grips – Steroids (Crouching Tiger Hidden Gabber) – Felt too much like an EP or Remix album.. knowing Death Grips I’ll probably come around to this later on down the road, I always do.

Feist – Pleasure – Decent album but didn’t inspire me to write

Fleet Foxes – Crack-Up – Oof I know I might get hate for this one but it just didn’t connect with me. I listened to Helplessness Blues about 20 times in a row but then never again, and I think I might’ve worn out Fleet Foxes as a whole.. I haven’t given up on this though.

Flotation Toy Warning – The Machine That Made Us – Another hyped album I wanted to like but didn’t see the appeal, might come around later

Jlin – Black Origami – Felt this was the better version of Blanck Mass – World Eater but still didn’t hit me

Kairon; IRSE! – Ruination – Interesting Post-Rock/Shoegaze but just didn’t hit me

Karen Elson – Double Roses – Easy listening singer-songwriter but not much for me to write about

Laetitia Sadier Source Ensemble – Find Me Finding You – might come back to this later..

Laurel Halo – Dust – might also come back to this, but I was just bored

The Necks – Unfold – liked this but couldn’t think of what to write about

Offerbeest – Black Teeth – same as Dilloway

Pallbearer – Heartless – didn’t change my mind on Pallbearer

Richard Dawson – Peasant – weird dysfunctional Folk album… might come back to this one

Roger Waters – Is This the Life We Really Want? – Not terrible but overly political and it gets tired after a while

Shabazz Palaces – Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star – haven’t found the right mood for this

Slowdive – Slowdive – Same as above.. will probably review this later

Sufjan Stevens, Nico Muhly, Bryce Dessner, & James McAlister – Planetarium – same as above, might not review it

Tiny Vipers – Laughter – Just didn’t grab me

Vokonis – The Sunken Djinn – Enjoyable listen but didn’t find the urge to write

White Suns – Psychic Drift – Same as Dilloway

Will Guthrie – People Pleaser – Same as Dilloway

