7/1/17 – Hecker “A Script For Machine Synthesis” (2017)

Florian Hecker is an experimental artist and musician, working mainly in the experimental and electronic genres, but more precisely with performance art. A Script For Machine Synthesis is a 60 minute description, analysis, speculation, and fascination of a pink ice cube. It’s the audio portion of an art piece that is simply a pink ice cube placed on the floor and letting it melt over the 60 minute run time, with a perfume wafting in the air. If I had read that description beforehand I would’ve never checked this out, and I’m not even sure I’m happy or sad that I did.

A text to speech voice describes this pink ice cube, but then soon the voice of actress Charlotte Rampling comes on, distorted and warped. The level of distortion as well as background noise is altered and changed every few minutes, sometimes coherent and other times completely disturbing and downright scary. What is said is complete gibberish, nonsense that contains words and phrases, but any complete ideas here only make sense to someone with a broken mind. There are demons in the ice cube that keep the pink in the frozen void hidden in transparency??? The writer of all this is Iranian philosopher Reza Negarestani. I might be completely wrong, but it feels like the words are thrown against the wall, and what sticks in your mind is what matters. Images are thrown into your mind, replaced by another image or some incomprehensible thought that just clutters your mind. The whole time I was listening to this I couldn’t pull away, even when I wanted to go get a class of water. It’s a nonstop barrage of such bizarre ramblings that I struggled to turn it off for some reason.

It ends with a complete list of credits for the piece, something I strangely love immensely. Even when spoken with Rampling’s digitized voice, there’s that small bit of humanity that was otherwise not to be found. I wouldn’t really recommend this album to anyone, or that you can even call it an album. There is some noise, spoken word, rhythm, and noise, but this is pure experiment. This is closest to Harsh Noise if anything, as the computerized voice of Charlotte Rampling becomes just another tool for noise, as your brain naturally stops trying to make sense of what she says. If any of this excites you, then this art piece is for you.

 

