5/2/17 – Nature and Organisation “Beauty Reaps the Blood of Solitude” (1994)

I was watching this video by youtuber Myke C-Town, where he goes over albums that changed his life when he was growing up.  It got me thinking about albums that have sculpted my life too, but then I decided to just check out the music he was talking about, and this piqued my interest. Nature and Organisation is the musical project headed by Michael Cashmore, a frequent collaborator/member of Current 93. Members of that band appear here and there on this album, with Cashmore composing most (Wicker Man Song is from the 1973 film). As with Myke C-Town, I was struck by David Tibet’s voice, and I will likely follow in Myke’s footsteps and dig into Tibet’s discography.

Beauty Reaps the Blood of Solitude’s sound is an ethereal and crisp Folk style, filled with heavy lyrics and flowing violins. Rose McDowall’s voice is enchanting on Wicker Man Song, her voice is soft but not nearly as soft as the distant flute that you can nearly mistake for ambient noise. The acoustic guitar on this track and the others is elegant and precise, and since I have such a soft spot for the acoustic, I love it.

Heavy and mournful strings and a strumming guitar are the backdrop for David Tibet’s poetic recital on Bloodstreamruns. His voice is hard to describe, it’s the voice of both a young and old man. It’s commanding but tender. I can see why there is such a draw to his singing, and I will have to dig through Current 93’s prolific career to find more gems like this album. I love the chorus on this song, especially when Rose Mcdowall joins in:
“God walked on Earth in those days
Now, still, in my Hearts
He walks still.”

Tears for an Eastern Girl is a gorgeous lullaby, and a lament for long lost love. Again Mcdowall and Tibet make a great pair here, but what snaps you out of your slumber is Beauty Destroyed. An excellent title for a torrent of noise and electric feedback. On my second listen I realized it was foreshadowed earlier in the album at the start of My Black Diary and Introduction. This horror is repeated on Obsession Flowers as Torture, joined by an erratic drum that is absent elsewhere on the album. It is certainly shocking and abrasive, but it is not the harshest noise that is out there, and I think fans that are new to that sound can overcome it.

I really liked the structure of this album right off the bat, it’s something that reminds me so much of many Folk-Metal albums that I’ve loved. With the way it’s all put together, it just feels like this is the bridge between Folk and Folk-Metal. The album’s emphasis on flutes and strings paired with novel-like lyrics that give it an “epic tale” feel to it that’s felt in Metal too. Even upon several listens I feel like I’m just scratching the surface, I will have to digest this album a long time. It’s utterly fascinating and fans of Folk music need to listen to this.

