4/25/17 – Jeff Buckley “Grace” (2004)

Jeff Buckley is one of my favorite singers of all time, and his death is another musical tragedy. Jeff is the son of legendary Singer-Songwriter Tim Buckley, and though I love them both, Jeff carved a completely different musical path for himself. Grace is his only album, but it is a powerhouse. His voice is absolutely incredible, and it constantly awes me how much range he has. Interestingly I have a tough time fitting a genre to his music, besides something as generic as Rock or Alternative. I feel like those labels make him sound generic, but really he is anything but.

Mojo Pin sets the tone very nicely, introducing the fact that Jeff’s singing will be the main focus of this album. It’s hard to emphasize how much his singing has an impact on this album, especially considering I normally don’t fawn over singers that much. Grace is absolutely gorgeous, a descent into the madness of love, with the haunting chorus “Wait in the fire” ringing in my ears. Hallelujah is his most famous song, a cover of Leonard Cohen’s. Not much I can say here that hasn’t been said a million times, Jeff’s voice can easily bring people to tears with how beautiful this is.

Lover, You Should’ve Come Over is my favorite on the album, it’s one many deeply emotional songs on this album. This, and with the rest of the album really, are endlessly listenable and don’t disappoint on repeat listens. It’s just a perfect mix of impeccable singing and bittersweet lyrics:
“It’s never over, my kingdom for a kiss upon her shoulder
It’s never over, all my riches for her smiles when I slept so soft against her
It’s never over, all my blood for the sweetness of her laughter
It’s never over, she’s the tear that hangs inside my soul forever”

Eternal Life slams on the gas with a gut punching bass line that was unheard of previously. Saying that though, on this listen it feels like it was foreshadowed by Last Goodbye. It’s a good wake up call after the slow and dream-like Corpus Christi Carol, and the grooves are just awesome. Dream Brother closes out the album with a psychedelic nightmare of some of our most primal fears – being lost and alone. He connects that fear of abandonment that children experience with adulthood relationships. This is especially poignant since he never got to know his father, only meeting him once. Jeff is a legendary musician in his own right, and it’s a tragedy he died so young. Listen to this album, and try not to focus on his untimely death, but the music he made.

 

