4/23/17 – El Guincho “Pop Negro” (2010)

Pop Negro is one of those albums that I will just listen to on repeat till I wear it out of my brain and had to move on. El Guincho (Pablo Díaz-Reixa) is an Electronic Pop producer from Spain that made waves with his debut Alegranza (2008) but I think Pop Negro does everything better across the board. The mood is lighter, the melodies and hooks are catchier, and the production is on point. His sound is a mix of Tropical Dance, Hip-Hop, Pop and Dub.

Bombay is the lead single and it’s a good fit here at the start. The music video done for this is probably his most popular, featuring a montage of short and intense bursts of sex, violence, comedy, and the bizarre. You can easily take that video cynically, dismissing it as hipster bullshit, but it’s honestly a good fit this music. Like the video, it’s a mash up of ideas- not to be pretentious, but just creative and fun. Translating the lyrics points to them matching the themes of the video as well – lots of focus on relationships. Everything on this album is sharp and crisp, especially the drum samples. Everything feels so meticulous and put into place, yet it never feels lame and predictable.

It’s a very danceable album, with tracks like Soca Del Eclipse and FM Tan Sexy always getting me moving or singing along. Pablo’s singing on this record just fits so well, even though I think a number of these songs could work well as just instrumental tracks. I think one of the downsides is that the second half of the album isn’t as strong as the first, particularly the closer Danza Invinto. It never really goes anywhere or makes up it’s mind whether it wants to be a final dance or a relaxing bookend. If it was switched with Lycra Mistral I feel like the album would’ve had a much better flow to it. That’s just my gut feeling, I could be wrong. Regardless, this is a fantastic album that any fan of Pop music should check out.

 

